Area Attractions

Map of Area Attractions

Birthplace Of The Gideon Bible

Boscobel Hotel

The Boscobel Hotel
1005 Wisconsin Avenue

Central House / Boscobel Hotel
1005 Wisconsin Ave.
Boscobel, WI 53805

State & National Registers of Historic Places; built in 1863. At almost any hotel in the world you will find a Gideon Bible provided by Gideons International. The birthplace of the Gideons was the Central House Hotel on September 14, 1898, in Boscobel, Wisconsin. Traveling salesmen John H. Nicholson of Janesville, Wisconsin, and Samuel E. Hill of Beloit, Wisconsin, shared a room in the crowded hotel because of a lumberman's convention. In Room 19, the men discovered that they were both Christians; they talked about starting a Christian traveling men's association. The following May the two salesmen, joined by a third, William J. Knights, rekindled that idea, and on July 1, 1899, founded the Gideons. The name Gideon comes from the Old Testament Book of Judges, and refers to a man who was willing to do whatever God asked of him. Today, the Boscobel Hotel, where the two founders met, is listed on the National Historical Register, and Room 19, where the idea of the Gideons was conceived, is preserved and marked with a special plaque. Here is a brief history of the Central House / Boscobel Hotel. For more information or restaurant hours call 608-375-4714.

Boscobel Depot Museum

Boscobel Depot

The Boscobel Depot
1005 Wisconsin Avenue

800 Wisconsin Avenue
Boscobel, WI 53805

Since the construction of the "old depot" in 1857, the Boscobel Depot was the "heartbeat of the area". It served as the marshalling point of 2,000 plus young enlisted men of the Union Army and again in subsequent years of W.W.I and W.W.II. It also served the area with food and industrial goods, as well as travel-through station. Included among notable people entering the City were the two traveling salesmen, Samuel E. Hill and John H. Nicholson, who began the writings of the Gideon Bible, as well as John Blaine who left the City for a 3-term governorship of Wisconsin and later adversary for President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The Boscobel Depot has recently been restored and will again serve the community as a very functional building with the conversion of its interior into a "Turn-of-the-Century Railroad" and "Early Rural American Walk-through Museum". The Boscobel Chamber of Commerce and Boscobel Community Foundation offices are located in the Depot building. For more information call 608-375-2672.

G.A.R. Hall (Grand Army Of The Republic)

102 Mary Street
Boscobel, WI 53805

State & National Registers of Historic Places A meeting hall for veterans of the Grand Army of the Republic was established after the Civil War and it still stands today. It is considered by experts to be the only remaining G.A.R. Hall in Wisconsin, possibly the Midwest. The G.A.R. Civil War Museum is filled with momentos of the Civil War era. Pictures, old drums and flags, even volumes of history from local veterans can be seen at the hall. The Hall received State & National Registers of Historic Places designation on December 27, 2007. The G.A.R. Hall is open every Saturday in June, July & August from 12 to 3 p.m. or by appointment. For more information or appointments call 608-375-5693 or 608-742-2589.

Rock School

Boscobel Rock School

The Rock School
205 Buchanan St.

205 Buchanan Street
Boscobel, WI 53805

National Register of Historic Places - An excellent example of turn-of-the century Romanesque revival. The old rock school was saved from demolition through a concerted effort to preserve the City's rich architectural heritage. Today it is home to grades K-1 and complements a rich variety of educational opportunities for area youngsters. Facility is open year round. For more information call 608-375-4165.

Muskets and Memories Civil War Reenactment

Kronshage Park
Boscobel, WI 53805

Muskets and Memories Civil War Reenactment and G.A.R. Heritage Encampment is held annually the first full weekend in August. This event has become one of the largest and most popular Civil War Era reenactments in the upper Midwest. The popular battle reenactments are represented by both North and South infantry, artillery, and medical units, along with camp followers and civilian sympathizers on both sides. Activities for the weekend include a ladies garden party, fashion show, ball and pie social, children's activities, band concerts, church service, first person impressions, medical history demonstrations, workshops, sutlers vending period goods and garments, guided tours of the Union, Confederate and civilian camps, and competitive military drills.

Boy Scout Cabin

Corner of LaBelle and Park Streets
Boscobel, WI 53805

Scouting has a long and rich history in the city of Boscobel. The Boy Scout cabin, built in 1913, has been renovated through the generous donations and work of volunteers in the community. According to the Jan. 2, 1913, Boscobel Dial, "This picturesque structure now being built in the east side park will be 20 x 30 ft. The walls will be logs, 9 ft. long, stood on end, and split in halves with the split side in. The eaves will be stained shingles. The quarter-pitch roof will project two feet over the sides and in the spring a large porch will be added on the south side and a rock chimney and fireplace on the north side. This will give the whole a very fit appearance for a park building."

Wisconsin River

Lower Wisconsin River
Boscobel, WI 53805

The lower Wisconsin River flows along the north edge of Boscobel. The lower river is a favorite of canoeists because of the scenic bluffs, serene nature, and miles of free flowing water. The river is relatively shallow, quite wide, and has plenty of sandbars for rest areas and camping. Fishing, boating, kayaking, tubing, hunting, and nature hikes are popular activities along the river. More Wisconsin River photos.

Boscobel Bluffs

Boscobel Bluffs
Boscobel Bluffs

Boscobel Bluffs
Boscobel, WI 53805

The 389-acre Boscobel Bluffs, purchased in 2013 by the Mississippi Valley Conservancy with a Knowles-Nelson Stewardship grant, is available for public access just minutes from downtown Boscobel. Access to the trailhead is off County Road MS near the intersection with Oakes Street. Watch for the Mississippi Valley Conservancy sign and parking area. The property, owned since the 1800s by a local family, includes hardwood forest, bluff prairies, rocky cliffs, and open grasslands. The land provides habitat for many types of wildlife including threatened birds like hooded warblers, rare reptiles, and endangered plants including purple milkweed and wild petunia. The property is designated as a State Natural Area. Public uses include hiking, hunting, birding, trail running, snow shoeing, and cross country skiing.

Southwestern Wisconsin Trout Fishing

Boscobel as a trout fishing destination is uniquely positioned in the northernmost part of Grant Conty, Wisconsin, with neighbouring counties of Crawford and Richland just across the Wisconsin River. The three counties are home to nearly 90 DNR-designated Class 1 trout streams, among the over 170 trout streams including Class 2 and Class 3 streams. You need a Wisconsin Trout Fishing License and Trout seasons and regulations vary, so please be sure the DNR Wisconsin Trout Fishing pages before heading to the stream. An excellent resource is Southwestern Wisconsin Trout Fishing Trail website.

Annual Fly-in / Drive-in Breakfast - Boscobel Airport

Boscobel Municipal Airport
100 James Drive
Boscobel, WI 53805

Boscobel Airport Commission schedules this event on the Sunday of the last full weekend in September from 8:00 a.m. until noon. It is not unusual to have planes fly in from Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, and the far corners of Wisconsin. Planes start arriving at the airport about 8:00 a.m. A large variety of aircraft will be on display on the field and local owners open their hangars for visitors to view facilities and aircraft. There is no charge to visit the airport and view the aircraft. Breakfast is served rain or shine; handicap parking is available. Airplane rides will be available for a nominal fee. For more information call 608-485-1258.

Wyalusing State Park

Bagley, WI 53801

Wyalusing State Park, a crown jewel of the Wisconsin State Park System, is situated in rural Grant County in southwest Wisconsin overlooking the confluence of the Wisconsin and Mississippi Rivers. For more information call 608-996-2261.

Circus World

426 Water St.
Baraboo, WI 53913

Since its opening in 1959, Circus World Museum has been owned by the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. It preserves more than 200 circus wagons, the biggest collection of these glittering masterpieces to be found anywhere. Its library and research center, housing thousands of posters, photos, films, heralds and other rare pieces of circus memorabilia, is the largest in the world on the subject and the only one devoted exclusively to the circus. For more information call 608-356-0800 or 608-356-8341 or visit www.circusworld.com.

Eagle Cave Natural Cave & Camp Grounds

16320 Cavern Lane
Blue River, WI 53518

Cave tours from Memorial Day to 2nd week of Sept., 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Family Camping, Hiking, Canoe rental & shuttle service, WInter Retreats, For more information call 608-537-2988.

Nelson Dewey State Park

County Road VV (On Great River Rd.)
Cassville, WI 53806

Scenic overlooks, Indian mounds, native prairie & birdwatching. Camp, hike & picnic. Park Fee. Open year round. For more information call 608-723-5374.

Stonefield Village Historic Site

County Road VV (On Great River Rd.)
Cassville, WI 53806

Named after the State of Wisconsin's first Governor, Nelson Dewey, Stonefield historic site includes the State Agricultural Museum, which tells the story of Wisconsin agriculture from the 19th century to the 1920s. Nearby, across a covered wooden bridge, a village re-created in the image of rural Wisconsin towns of the 1890s recall a time when small hamlets such as these served as social and commercial centers for outlying farms. Visit with shopkeepers and tradespeople as they re-enact daily village life. Then tour Governor Dewey's original homesite or enjoy a picnic on the bluffs overlooking the Mississippi River. For more information call 608-725-5210.

Cassville Car Ferry

May-Oct
Cassville, WI 53806

The Cassville Car Ferry is a fun way to cross the Mississippi River. The ferry operates between Wisconsin Highway 133/18 in Cassville and Iowa Highway 52 at Millville, IA. Operation begins the first weekend in May. It makes trips Saturday and Sunday until Memorial Day, then daily until Labor Day, then weekends only to October 31. For more information call 608-725-5180.

Dickeyville Grotto

305 West Main Street
Dickeyville, WI 53808

The Grotto and Shrines erected on Holy Ghost Parish grounds are the works of Father Mathias Wernerus, pastor from 1918-1931. Grounds are open year round. Tours daily from June-Aug. For more information call 608-563-3119.

Doll & Toy Museum

1135 6th St.
Fennimore, WI 53809

Inside this charming museum are more than 80 cases displaying dolls and toys dating from 1810 to the present. For more information call 608-822-4100, or toll-free 1-888-867-7935, or visit the Doll & Toy Museum website.

Railroad Museum

610 Lincoln Ave.
Fennimore, WI 53809

Along with artifacts from the "Dinky" era, there is a 1907 2-6-0 Davenport Steam Locomotive. Next to the museum, a 15" gauge train gives rides on scheduled weekends. For more information call 608-822-6144, or the Fennimore Chamber of Commerce office at 608-822-3599, or visit the Fennimore Railroad Museum website.

Hickory Grove Public House (Golf Course)

14562 U.S. Hwy. 61
Fennimore, WI 53809

Enjoy the beauty of this nine hole golf course in the rolling hills of Southwest Wisconsin. Driving range and practice putting green available if you want to brush up before a leisurely round of golf. If you forget your golf clubs and cart … don't worry, Hickory Grove will provide them for a nominal fee. After your round of golf, relax in the bar or enjoy an excellent meal in the dining area. For more information call 608-822-3314.

Gays Mills Apple Orchards

Gays Mills, WI 54631

Crawford County has plenty of fresh apples for the hungry traveler. In Prairie du Chien Township on Limery Road is Shihata Orchards. In Gays Mills are: Kegal Orchard, Sunrise Orchard, Kickapoo Orchards, Turkey Ridge Orchard, West Ridge Orchard, Hillcrest Orchard and Fleming Orchards.

Cunningham Museum

129 E. Maple St.
Lancaster, WI 53813

African-American historic exhibits and a remnant of the original oak survey marker. Open Monday-Saturday afternoons and by appointment. For more information call 608-723-2287 or 608-723-4924.

Grant County Courthouse

130 West Maple St.
Lancaster, WI 53813

The courthouse's octagonal copper and glass dome sparkles over downtown Lancaster. Open during business hours. Self-tour information available. The first Civil War monument (1867) ever erected in Wisconsin stands on the northeast corner of the square. For more information, call the Lancaster Chamber office at 608-723-2820 or 866-876-2665.

Effigy Mounds National Monument

Marquette, IA 52158

Effigy Mounds National Park is located three miles north of Marquette, IA. The visitor center is open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The park is open year round. Within Effigy Mounds there are 191 known prehistoric mounds; 29 take the form of animal effigies, and the remainder are conical, compound or linear. Besides its unusual archaeological attractions, Effigy Mounds has plants and animals that make up a biological community typical of the upper Mississippi River valley. The 1,481-acre park is divided into two units separated by the Yellow River. Both units are best explored by walking trails. For more information call 563-873-3491.

Isle Of Capri River Boat Casino

Hwy. 18 W
Marquette, IA 52158

The Isle of Capri Riverboat and Casino offers two-hour cruises down the Mississippi River to the mouth of the Wisconsin River on weekdays. The casino riverboat sails each Monday - Friday until October. There is no charge, and children are welcome aboard from 9:00 a.m. until noon. For more information call 1-800-4-YOU-BET - www.isleofcapricasino.com.

Spook Cave

10 Mi. West of Prairie du Chien, WI on Hwy. 18
13299 Spook Cave Rd.
McGregor, IA 52157

Spook Cave is unique because it is an underground boat trip. Guided boat tours explain the discovery and development of the cave. The cave is situated at the base of a 90-foot bluff. It is fully lighted for easy viewing and picture taking. Spook Cave's 93-acres of fun include lake swimming, hiking trails, playgrounds, volleyball, picnicking, cabin rental, lake fishing and much more. For more information call 563-873-2144.

Pendarvis

114 Shake Rag St.
Mineral Point, WI 53565

Discover a rare gem of Wisconsin history nestled into a wooded hillside where immigrant Cornish lead miners and their families put down roots in a new homeland in the 1830s and '40s. See the treasures of their Old World culture and wonder at how the flavor of that culture still remains in the stone-and-log houses they crafted all those years ago. For more information call 608-987-2122.

Rural Route 1 Popcorn

Retail Store - 101 Hwy.18
Montfort, WI 53569
Phone: 608-943-8283

Wisconsin grown gourmet popping corn, unique selection of gifts. For more information call 800-828-8115 or visit www.ruralroute1.com.

Wind Powered Electrical Generating Facility

Hwy. 18
Montfort, WI 53569

View the 20 330-foot high wind turbines just east of the Village of Montfort. Each turbine has a 30 megawatt capacity.

Mining Museum & Rollo Jamison Museum

405 E. Main St.
Platteville, WI 53818

The Mining Museum traces the development of lead and zinc mining in the Upper Mississippi Valley using models, dioramas, artifacts and photographs. The Rollo Jamison Museum includes exhibits of carriages, farm equipment, tools, general store & more. For more information call 608-348-3301.

Passage Thru Time Museum

104 North Main St.
Potosi, WI 53820

View the history of this early mining community. For more information call 608-763-2745. Also tour St. John Mine on the south end of Potosi. For more information call 608-763-2121.

Fort Crawford Medical Museum

717 S Beaumont Rd.
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821

This restored military hospital now contains pieces of medical and dental history of the 19th century, including displays of Indian herbal remedies, an early doctor's office, and an old-fashioned pharmacy. This site is best known for Dr. William Beaumont's pioneering studies of the human digestive system. The museum chronicles the advancement of medicine over the past 150 years and displays Indian herbal remedies, an 1890's drugstore, and a dentist's and physician's offices. For more information call 608-326-6960 or visit www.fortcrawfordmuseum.com

Villa Louis Historic Mansion, St. Feriole Island

521 N. Villa Louis Road
Prairie Du Chien, WI 53821

Villa Louis, an 1870s Victorian mansion, overlooks some of Wisconsin's most historic ground, including the site of the only battle of 1812 fought in Wisconsin. Built by the family of Hercules Dousman, who amassed a fortune in the fur trade and other frontier investments, the house is stocked with numerous furnishings and artwork original to the Dousman household, making it one of the most authentically furnished Victorian houses in the nation. Other features include the Fur Trade Museum and the Museum of Prairie Du Chien, Wisconsin's second oldest city. For more information call 608-326-2721.

Cabela's

Hwy. 35 N
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821

Cabela's, a 40,000 square foot retail store, offers outdoor gear and clothing in their patented style. In addition to viewing a large percentage of Cabela's inventory, visitors can take a look at the most taxidermy mounts around, from giant black bears pawing on a tree to whitetail deer simulating that early morning territorial scrape. Throughout the outdoor clothing, fishing equipment and firearms are hundreds of antlered deer peering at customers. For more information call 608-326-5600.

Frank Lloyd Wright Museum / The Warehouse

Richland Center, WI 53581

Designed as a warehouse for A.D. German, a wholesale grocer and coal dealer, by Richland County's most famous son, world renowned architect Frank Lloyd Wright, this impressive building is remarkable for its engineering as well as its impressive artistic merit. Constructed in 1915, the building rests on a shock-absorbing cork padding to enhance its stability. Wright later incorporated this shock-absorbing feature in Japan's Imperial Hotel, famous for withstanding Tokyo's most severe earthquakes. The impressive red brick structure is topped by a massive concrete frieze reminiscent of a Mayan decorative elements that transform this utilitarian building into a sturdy temple of commerce. The warehouse currently houses a gift shop, tearoom, art gallery and the Frank Lloyd Wright Museum, and is open to the public year 'round. For more information call (608) 647-6205.

House On The Rock

5754 Hwy. 23
Spring Green, WI 53588

There's no place quite like the fabulous House on the Rock. Be ready to fire up your imagination. It is a mesmerizing introduction to one person's imagination and dreams that have become reality. Located in the heart of Southwest Wisconsin, this premier attraction plays host to a half million guests a year. For more information call 608-935-3639 or visit www.thehouseontherock.com Discount summer tickets available at City Hall in Boscobel.

American Players Theater

Spring Green, WI 53588

A professional, equity, classical theatre located in Spring Green. There are 1133 comfortably cushioned theatre seats which sit in a natural amphitheater on 110 acres of woods and meadow just off the Wisconsin River. For ticket information call 608-588-2361.

Taliesin

U.S. Hwy. 23
Spring Green, WI 53588

Talieson has been described as Frank Lloyd Wright's autobiography in wood and stone. In a rural Wisconsin landscape stands the place where America's premier architect lived and worked for the majority of his illustrious career. Frank Lloyd Wright built Taliesin as a home for himself, his family, his architectural practice, and later the Taliesin Fellowship. Tours vary in length. For more information call 608-588-7900 or visit www.taliesinpreservation.org.

Kickapoo Indian Caverns & Native American Museum

Off Hwy 60
Wauzeka, WI 53826

The Kickapoo Indian Caverns of Wauzeka are a maze of chambers and tunnels, crafted by the timeless passage of waters flowing from cricks in the bedrock limestone and dripping stalactite over thousands of years. The caverns and the accompanying Native American Museum, have been enhanced and restored to a splendor that makes them a must see for locals and tourists. For more information call 608-875-7723 - www.kickapooindiancaverns.com.